top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSiew Sanz Ng

Travelling as a (Solo) Female in Pakistan

During my 5 years of work experience with Axiata, a telecommunications conglomerate, I had the opportunity to complete various rotations across Axiata’s South Asia and Southeast Asia operating companies. In South Asia, work took me to Sri Lanka, Nepal, and Bangladesh but not Pakistan yet and so, I was excited for this opportunity.


Pakistan did not disappoint and the colleagues at CERP and CERP Labs are among the most generous and hospitable people I have ever met. Their willingness to take a complete stranger in as family and their generosity in sharing without qualms were both heartwarming and humbling. I am grateful to say that I have made lifelong friends during my time there.


Despite the numerous offers for colleagues to take me to visit anywhere, I have always found enjoyment in solo travels and so, I took the opportunity to visit several landmarks in Lahore and Islamabad by myself – Lahore Fort, Badshahi Mosque, Shalamar Gardens, Lahore Museum, and Anarkali Bazaar in Lahore as well as the Margallah Hills in Islamabad. Although there are numerous female shoppers and visitors, both solo and in groups, solo female travelers like me were uncommon. I have also invited raised eyebrows from colleagues who were concerned about safety issues when I recounted solo travelling experiences over the weekends.


As a foreigner, I had the privilege to visit any place that I wanted to, even though as a female and by myself – a privilege that I know not many get to enjoy. Nonetheless, I have never felt unsafe in the places that I have visited – aside from peddlers and shopkeepers who were keen to make small sales. I do wish that more travelers would be open to visiting Pakistan, and that someday I would be able to see in Pakistan the throngs of backpackers that I often see in Southeast Asia.


Wazir Khan Mosque



Shalamar Gardens



Lahore Museum



Lahore Fort


Sheesh Mahal (The Palace of Mirrors)



Badshahi Mosque



Margallah Hills, Islamabad


Overlooking Islamabad from Margallah Hills

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page